REVIEW: Captive in the Dark – C.J. Roberts

Leave a comment

May 25, 2016 by evesummers

12513614Title: Captive in the Dark
Author: C.J. Roberts
Series: The Dark Duet #1
Genre: dark erotic romance
Rating: ***** 

He was my tormentor and my solace; the creator of the dark and light within. 

I’m a massive fan of dark novels and even I found this a little difficult to read. It’s pure brilliance, it’s disgusting and vile and yet manages to be as confusing to the reader as Caleb is to Livvie; despite the humiliation and the abuse, it is also wildly erotic: and therein shows the most sordid nature of my personality.

“This isn’t a romance. You’re not a damsel in distress, and I’m not the handsome prince come to save you.” 

This is one of the most intriguing, slowly unfolding and surprisingly beautiful books I have ever read. It hurt me, it turned me on and it disgusted me, but I couldn’t put it down at all, desperate to seek any solace the ending might offer.

And now I have to read the next one because it’s not over. And I can’t wait to do so.

Leave a Reply

