REVIEW: Born to be Bound – Addison Cain

2

June 14, 2016 by evesummers

born to be boundTitle: Born to be Bound
Author: Addison Cain
Series: Alpha’s Claim #1
Genre: dark dystopian sci-fi
Rating: *****

Well, I’m not sure what the hell I just read, but I do know that it’s on my Best of 2016 list and I fucking loved it. I can’t decide whether or not to classify it as a romance. It’s definitely dark and it certainly revolves around a relationship but I am finding it incredibly difficult, at this stage at least, to categorise it as ‘romance’.

Where do I begin? This was such a detailed, highly complex world. I’m pretty astonished at how much I enjoyed it, despite it being a little confusing to begin with. It was nice to not have all the irritating exposition; the mythology and history of this universe unfolded naturally with the story.

I’m not going to give away any spoilers in this book; I know a lot of people have given it one star due to cheating but it’s more complex and for me, it simply drove the plot forwards rather than made me feel sick like normal – I tend to have cheating as a hard limit but I could deal with this. So basically, DON’T discount this book just because of this.

Shepherd is one of those ‘heroes’ who doesn’t deserve the name and I’m not even sure at this point that he is intended to BE the hero of this series, but regardless, my dark, sordid brain chose him over the alternative. Claire is fantastic. She is immensely strong despite being a slave to her nature, and she continually fights despite the situation she is in.

I LOVED the animalistic nature of these ‘humans’. This was the most interesting part of this universe, the scenting, the rutting, the nesting. It give it this so much extra depth and intrigue. This is dark and brutal and I’m still reeling from it. Read it.

2 thoughts on “REVIEW: Born to be Bound – Addison Cain

  1. […] Born to be Bound – Addison Cain […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

