REVIEW: Man Candy – Melanie Harlow

Leave a comment

August 11, 2016 by evesummers

man candy

Goodreads

He’s back.

Not just back in town, but living in the flat right beneath mine. And he looks good enough to eat, which is just one more reason to stay away from him.

But I can’t resist.

The sex is incredible (pretty sure we’ve shaken the house right off its foundation), but he can’t fool me—not this time. A degree in marketing and five years in advertising have taught me that “true love” is a fairy tale used to sell lipstick, diamonds, and perfume. It doesn’t exist.

He thinks I’m wrong, and he wants to prove it.

I think he’s crazy, so I dare him to try.

It might be the biggest mistake of my life.

Review

Title: Man Candy
Author: Melanie Harlow
Series: standalone
Genre: erotic romance, humour
Heat: 4/5
Plot: 3/5
Rating: 4/5

The first book I’ve read by Melanie Harlow, I was pleasantly surprised by the mixture of humour, sickening sweetness and rather erotic sex. Although there were perhaps a few too many exclamation marks within the writing, I found it easy to read and also, more importantly, that I wanted to read on, to go through the journey with Jaime. Even better, the angst within these pages was in no way forced, like in many other romance novels, but rather was necessary to the plot, to the character development.

The best thing about this novel was that Harlow had put effort into fully forming both the main characters; I’ve noticed that most of the time the effort is solely into the male, to create a man for women to totally drool over, whilst the female protagonist tends to be largely forgotten about or left half-created. Jaime was an excellent protagonist, from her love of wine to her commitment issues and her wild side. And dear god, the sex was delicious.

Leave a Reply

