TACKLING THE TBR: King – T.M. Frazier

2

August 18, 2016 by Evelyn Summers

King

Goodreads

Homeless. Hungry. Desperate.

Doe has no memories of who she is or where she comes from.

A notorious career criminal just released from prison, King is someone you don’t want to cross unless you’re prepared to pay him back in blood, sweat, pu$$y or a combination of all three.

King’s future hangs in the balance. Doe’s is written in her past. When they come crashing together, they will have to learn that sometimes in order to hold on, you have to first let go.

Warning: This book contains graphic violence, consensual and nonconsensual sex, drug use, abuse, and other taboo subjects and adult subject matter. Although originally slated to be a standalone, KING is now a two part series.

Tackling the TBR

I read Callie Hart’s Blood & Roses series in April 2015, and once I was done I was desperate for something else. After hunting and hunting, I finally came across T.M. Frazier’s The Dark Light of Day series, which had glowing reviews. I read it, finished it in one sitting (yes – both instalments) and I’m sorry to say that I hated it. It was so predictable, so silly and over the top. Yet, there was something about the brutality that Frazier didn’t shy away from that I was pretty impressed with. Anyway, I basically wrote Frazier off as an author who just wasn’t for me.

Flash forward to 2016. I started this blog up and was desperate for content. So I signed up to review Frazier’s All the Rage, thinking I would be giving it two or three stars. Um…that didn’t happen. I LOVED it. You can read my glowing review here. So, Frazier was back on the menu, and my interest in King was born. I was lucky enough to nab it when it was free for a short time, and it’s been in my TBR since.

Purchase King by T.M. Frazier here! 

Review

Title: King
Author: T.M. Frazier
Series: King #1
Genre: dark erotic romance
Heat: 4/5
Plot: 5/5
Rating: 4.5/5

Holy shit. I basically ingested this book in one sitting and now I need more. I laughed and I cried, and I fell in love with King, Bear and Preppy. How wonderful to have such fully-fleshed characters simply in the first instalment of this series. My only complaint is that it could really do with a decent proof read and edit – with this, it would have reached the total five stars.

King is already one of my top fictional characters. I adore the conflicting dark and light within him, the fact that he makes mistakes and questionable decisions. And yet, there is this underlying part of him, fiercely loyal and able to hurt, which makes for one hell of an intriguing character. I need more of him.

I’m a huge fan of darkness, brutality and realism, and Frazier does not disappoint here. This world is a dangerous one, and it shows, right from the very beginning. There is no shying away; everything is faced head-on and in stark detail, and it’s refreshing to have an author write like this. But, more than that, this was a gut-wrenching read for the emotional impact, particularly the final 25%. We know what is about to happen and are unable to prevent it. There is this beautiful sense of finality and catharsis, and, frankly, it hurt my heart a little (but the best books always do). And what a cliffy. I cannot wait to continue this series – it’s been on my TBR for a long time and it absolutely did not disappoint.

2 thoughts on “TACKLING THE TBR: King – T.M. Frazier

Leave a Reply

