REVIEW: Let The Waves Come In – J.L. Leslie

Leave a comment

August 24, 2016 by evesummers

let the waves come in

Let The Waves Come In by J.L. Leslie
Series: standalone in a series
Genre: romance
Theme: second-chance, love triangle
Purchase it
Add it on Goodreads

I’m Aubrey Somers. I’ve landed my dream job. I have a great apartment and I still keep in touch with my best friend…even though he lives hundreds of miles away. I’ve even started dating again. I have a lot going for me.

It doesn’t matter that I have to take an anti-depressant everyday or see a therapist every other week. It doesn’t matter that I refuse to drive anywhere. The wreck that ruined everything I had is almost a distant memory. Almost.

But now I have two men in my life. Two men who want to be with me. Two men I never thought I’d have the chance to be with. And I feel like I’m drowning…

This book contains explicit language and sexual scenes. It is meant for adult readers only.

Review

Heat: ⭐
Plot: 
Rating: 

Having read the blurb, I went into this book expecting a gritty read, a struggle with depression at the forefront with a romance and love triangle thrown in. As it was, Aubrey’s depression (and indeed Declan’s PTSD) was barely mentioned. I would have enjoyed it more had it been a little darker and dealing more with these sensitive topics which were clearly aspects of these characters’ lives. Instead, Aubrey was distracted with a love triangle, of which one member just wasn’t human and likeable enough for me to really care for. I like my love triangles to tear me apart internally, to fall for both characters and have to make the impossible choice along with the protagonist.

Other than that, the writing and pacing were strong (apart from a habit of every fifth sentence being italicised despite being written in first person and in the characters’ heads anyway) and it was an easy book to read. I enjoyed it enough to want to read the sequel, but it just fell a little flat emotionally for me. I found the best parts were written from Declan’s viewpoint, because these tended to hold the most anguish and were the only times I really managed to feel a bit of a pang. I think my main issue overall was just that I was expecting a very different book.

Leave a Reply

