REVIEW: Soulless – T.M. Frazier

2

August 27, 2016 by evesummers

soullessSoulless – T.M. Frazier
Series: King #4
Genre: dark erotic romance, suspense
Theme: MC
Purchase it
Add it to your TBR

The finale to Bear and Thia’s epic love story.

Review

Heat: ★★★★
Rating:
★★★★

“I miss the way you make me feel like a person of the world, instead of a problem in it.”

Picking up right from the major plot twist in Lawless, this is the conclusion to Bear and Thia’s story. As ever, this is adark, gritty read, and it seems to me that Frazier’s writing is constantly becoming darker, never shying away from scenes that will be controversial or difficult to read. This isn’t a criticism, though – it’s praise. It’s wonderful that, in a romance series with happily ever afters, it is still possible togenuinely fear for the characters. Frazier’s writing always affects me physically, whether I’m terrified, disturbed or just plain turned on (sometimes all three at once – particularly in one scene here).

Having Rage introduced in person was definitely one of the highlights. I read her spin-off novel, All The Rage before I started this series, so I have an idea about her own life. She is one of my all-time favourite fictional heroines and is, frankly, just plain batty. But then, in a few places, I’ve thought the same about Bear and Thia.

“Love isn’t about wanting a hero, it’s about wanting to be one for the other person.”

What I’ve found interesting since the second instalment is the way Preppy has continued to be a presence, within the mind of these characters, never quite forgotten. There’s almost a paranormal aspect in some scenes, but it never quite goes that far. What I did enjoy were the few flashbacks scattered throughout, allowing us to gain more of an insight into not only Bear and Thia’s lives, but also Preppy’s life (and, of course, his sexual preferences – which remain to be detailed but continue to intrigue me).

I found the first half of the novel absolutely gripping, but then it became slightly rushed throughout the second half. Things fell into place perhaps a little too easily, previous characters were around perhaps just for the sake of making an appearance, and there was (as ever) a monster plot twistto finish this, which I’m not quite sure about yet – maybe Frazier has too much of a thing for happily ever afters. It remains to be seen in the sequel. But, if anyone can pull it off, I am absolutely rooting for Frazier to do so.

“We are lawless. We are free. We are FAMILY.”

Overall, a worthy instalment to one of my all-time favourite series. Despite being a little slower in places, and maybe even a little far-fetched, I thoroughly enjoyed this rollercoaster.

2 thoughts on “REVIEW: Soulless – T.M. Frazier

Leave a Reply

