REVIEW: Three Hard Lessons – Nikki Sloane

2

September 2, 2016 by Evelyn Summers

Three Hard LessonsThree Hard Lessons by Nikki Sloane
Series: Blindfold Club #2 (can standalone)
Genre: erotica
Themes: BDSM
Add it to your TBR

I am the woman men pay thousands of dollars to sleep with. I do what I love and what I’m so very good at.

Then he walks in and drops $30,000. He wants to talk. And kiss. And take me home.

In a single night, this man turns everything upside-down and has me breaking every rule I’ve lived by to keep men at a distance. I’m about to learn some lessons the hard way.

Don’t tease him. Don’t give him boundaries. And don’t think you get a choice in who you love.

Purchase It

Amazon US | Amazon UK

Review

Heat: 
Rating: 

“Go and put up your walls, Payton. They don’t stop me.”

As ever, Nikki Sloane delivers a scorchingly sexy erotica novel with just the right amount of romance and drama to keep it interesting. The main thing that stood out for me in this book, besides the acute chemistry between the two leads, was the characterisation of Dom. He was unbelievably awesome. It’s so refreshing to have the hero of a romance not be totally dominant and alpha, but instead be sensitive, embarrassed and a little unsure of himself (with the capability to go uber-dom at the perfect moment, despite his inexperience). Similarly, I found Payton a strong supporting character in the previous novel, and it was wonderful to be able to explore her strong, independent character further.

The romance aspect was surprisingly heartwarming, and managed to fulfil the disgustingly girly romantic part of me without being too stupid and unrealistic. I think that’s what makes this series so good – there’s incredibly hot sex, but underneath that there’s a sweet love story, with characters that are actually developed enough to root for and care about. Even during the group sex scenes, Sloane manages to maintain their connection, similarly to the previous instalment, resulting in a panty-melting scene but without ruining the romance and relationship that has been built up between the two.

“I can’t make you say you love me.” He blinked and the aqua in his eyes darkened. They filled with determination. “But I can make you feel it.”

Sloane is also a master at sex scenes. Everything I’ve read so far has had a five-star heat rating, and I’m not ashamed to say that yes, these scenes make me wet. Always. I think it’s to do with the creativity of them, but also the fact that I fully believe the romance between the characters too, which just leads to me being more emotionally involved, even when they’re doing all manner of things to one another.

Overall, a sickeningly romantic, scorchingly hot read that’ll leave you panting for more. If you like BDSM without the dark (or, like me, love BDSM and the dark), this is the series for you. Now, onto the next one.

2 thoughts on “REVIEW: Three Hard Lessons – Nikki Sloane

  1. […] The Dollhouse – Stacia Stone ★★★ Three Hard Lessons – Nikki Sloane ★★★★ His Dark Canvas – Alexandrea Weis ★★ Torn – Carian Cole ★★★ Wildest […]

    Like

  2. […] It Takes Two 1) Three Simple Rules 2) Three Hard Lessons 2.5) One More Rule 3) Three Little Mistakes 4) Three Dirty […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

