REVIEW: Mr. Perfect – J.A. Huss

2

September 7, 2016 by Evelyn Summers

Mr PerfectMr. Perfect by J.A. Huss
Series: Mister #1
Genre: erotic romance
Themes: office romance, enemies to lovers
Archetype: billionaire, alpha
Add it to your TBR

Wanting the perfect man doesn’t make me crazy. I just know what I like.

A powerful billionaire in a suit wasn’t even my first choice. McAllister Stonewall was never on my radar, I didn’t even know he existed.

But I do now.

His hands are all over me at work. The heat of his chest pressing against my bare back as he bends me over the desk is the only thing on my mind.

He is my most forbidden desires unleashed. He is my new secret obsession. He is my Mr. Perfect.

Until the moment I realize… There’s no such thing as perfect.

Purchase it

Amazon US | Amazon UK

Review

Heat: ★★★★
Rating: ★★★★

How can he be so damn hot and so damn despicable at the same time?

I skimmed through a few of the other reviews before putting my own into words, mainly because I enjoyed this so much that I was curious as to why there were so many mixed reviews. The main theme that kept coming up was that some of Mac’s actions were considered a little “rapey”, leading to a few DNFs and poor reviews. I understand this, I do – but this wasn’t an issue for me. Maybe my mind has just been warped from all the dark erotic I’ve been reading. Yes, there were some coercion scenes here, dub-con at a push, but I felt Huss’ narrative made it absolutely clear that Ellie didwant what was happening. Yes, there was kink and filth, but from where I was reading, it was all consensual, justpushing the boundaries of erotic fantasy a little. So don’t let that stop you if you’re concerned about this read.

“Talk to me like a dirty slut, Ellie, and I’ll make you come so hard, your legs will spasm and your body will collapse.”

Moving on – this was a fucking hot read. Who doesn’t enjoy delving into the office romance fantasies with an outrageously alpha boss, especially when they involve a wonderfully dominant character, right from the start?And especially when they involve one of those rare, proper face-fucking scenes. And it was outrageous. There was a fair bit of melodrama and overreaction, with both characters. Yet, I just couldn’t tear myself away from this romance. Not only was it hideously heartwarming, but it was also incredibly funny. I read the first 25% whilst my brother was watching Stranger Things, and he kicked me out because I was laughing so hard. Huss just kept making these awfully cringeworthy moments even worse, and I fucking loved it.

I like his power. I like the way he talks to me. The way he assumes I will just obey his commands.

This was by no means perfect – it was a pretty predictable, typical romance plot, complete with big romantic gestures, but where it felt better was both with the sex and chemistry between the two leads, and Ellie’s character. She was adorable, delusional and clutzy. And kinky. I very much enjoyed seeing her character progression throughout these pages, one of the stronger aspects of this read. Would I read the sequel? Absolutely. Bring it on.

2 thoughts on “REVIEW: Mr. Perfect – J.A. Huss

  1. […] Cole ★★★ Wildest Dream – R.C. Boldt ★★★★ Disgrace – Dee Palmer ★★★ Mr. Perfect – J.A. Huss ★★★★ Love Letters – Drea St. James ★★★ Romancing the Duke – Tessa […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

