RELEASE & REVIEW: Torrid Affair – Callie Anderson

1

September 13, 2016 by evesummers

torrid-affair-ebook-coverTorrid Affair by Callie Anderson
Series: standalone
Genre: romantic drama
Themes: affair

add-to-goodreads-button

I’m fucked.

The life I have lived for the past ten years is built solely on lies and secrets.

But I can’t help myself.

I’m in love with two different men. And one of them is my brother-in-law.

He’s my drug. My fire. My addiction.

But he’s married to my best friend. And I’m married to my husband.

I’m not ashamed. I have no guilt.

None.

I’m not fucked. I’m a fucked up person.

This is the story of how I ruined my life.

Purchase it

Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon AU

Giveaway

There is a giveaway for a $50 Amazon Gift Card

Review

Heat: ★★
Rating: ★★★★

Reviewer’s note: this book is centred around an affair. Don’t read if that’s a hard limit for you. Don’t be a twat.

We should have been enemies. It would have been easier to hate him than to not fall in love with him.

I read the synopsis to this and had to read it. Like many others, I find reading about affairs to be a very tense and difficult thing, but I thought I’d put myself out there and really give it a go. And I’m glad I gave it the chance.

This novel is structured into three parts, with the first part taking up around 50% (but, also, for me, being the most interesting too). This large, slowly paced part was vital in understanding the characters and their long and dramatic histories and relationships, whilst also sowing the seeds for future events. It deals with Nate and Brielle’s meeting and all the student dramas following it. Now, I’m not a huge fan of young adult books and college romances, but Anderson dealt with this extremely maturely, successfully writing a book for adults despite much of it being set at this life stage.

The final two parts, set in the present day, were much quicker paced. If anything, I actually felt they were a little too quick, not allowing the same amount of build up and angst as the first. And I have to say that the climax was refreshingly unexpected for me, so it’s definitely worth sticking with until the end.

No matter how wrong a situation is, when your heart wants something, there isn’t anything you can do to fight it.

I also felt somewhat surprised that I didn’t have the emotional response I was expecting. This is largely due to the fact that I just didn’t like Del or Julian. Neither of them seemed to be worth of their spouses, thus I was simply rooting for Nate and Brielle the entire time without really caring that it was an affair. This is probably where I was a little disappointed, too. I was really braced for this gutting, devastating emotional pull which made my heart race, but it never quite reached that stage.

My dreams were a fairytale that ended with a bullshit happily ever after.

Overall, a strong affair romance which was let down slightly by its lack of emotional resonance, despite its originality.

One thought on “RELEASE & REVIEW: Torrid Affair – Callie Anderson

  1. […] Cuts Like an Angel – Mason Sabre & Lucian Bane ★★★★★ (top recommendation) Torrid Affair – Callie Anderson ★★★★ Retrieval – Aly Martinez ★★★★ Candy Boys – Jo Raven ★★★★ The […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

