Release & Review: Candy Boys – Jo Raven

1

September 15, 2016 by evesummers

candy boysCandy Boys by Jo Raven
Series: standalone spin-off to Micah
Genre: erotic romance
Themes: menage
add-to-goodreads-button

Joel and Jethro. Roommates. Total hunks. Inseparable friends. Hot as hell.

Meet my fantasy boyfriends. Aren’t they just the sexiest, cutest thing? I know, right? They totally are. They are hot, too hot for a quiet—and obsessed with them—girl working in a bookshop.
That’d be me, by the way.

There’s also the tiny problem of Joel wanting another girl. And as for Jethro, well… he doesn’t do girls. Or maybe he doesn’t do relationships. He certainly doesn’t do boys, so he isn’t doing his best and very male friend… right? Much less his male friend and me at the same time.

So it’s fine to crush on them. And write a serial story on my blog in which we have tantric sex in every possible position.
All three of us. Together. Touching, and licking, and sucking, and screwing.
Whew.

I mean, it’s okay. It’s perfectly safe. They’ll never even know I exist, much less find out about my blog and my secret fantasy about them.
Right?

…Yeah, that’s what I thought, too.

Warning: This book contains two super-hot boys and a nerdy, funny girl who has the hots for them. It includes boy on boy fun, and girl on boy, and boy on girl, and girl on boy on boy, and, well, you get the picture.

Warning 2: This book may set you on fire. Handle with caution.

Warning 3: This book is funny, and dark, and angsty. It is NOT a love triangle. It is a relationship between three people with a happy ending.

Purchase it

Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon AU

Review

Heat: ★★★★
Rating: ★★★★

How does one go back to writing a story when reality is so much better?

I found this to be a wonderfully refreshing deviation from Raven’s typical work. She tends to have a particular formula used in many of her other books, yet this one, whilst maintaining aspects of this, manages to come out and be her strongest release yet.

I thought it was an interesting take on the menage theme to have one member having to work on accepting his sexuality, whereas the norm tends to focus on the acceptability of the three-way aspect. Similarly, I really liked the characterisation of Candy, a book blogger nerd, confident in her sexuality and sexual interests (if not a little stalkerish).

More than that, this was funny. Not laugh-out-loud and snort-out-of-your-nose funny, but funny enough to put a smirk on my face for much of the first part. It did get a little more serious towards the end, with Jet taking the role of thetypical Raven hero, a guy with a dark past who finds comfort and hope in love. Although I have to admit I started finding this formula slightly irritating, here it works well because it is balanced perfectly by Joel’s character and his own angst and difficulty with self-acceptance.

Does taking it in the ass constitute the foundation of a steady relationship?

It wasn’t perfect, however. Much as I liked Candy’s characterisation and strength, I found her narrative voice a little irritating, particularly when name-dropping romance authors for no apparent reason, and calling her vagina a “kitty”. I couldn’t quite get past that one. Similarly, there were maybe a few too many things going on here, each person having their own angst and background, with the drama maybe a little forced, particularly with Joel.

I like them curvy. I like them sweet. I like girls who like sex and can tell me what they want, so I can give it to them deep and hard.

Despite its flaws, this was a fun, steamy ride, and a very promising new direction for Jo Raven. I hope she branches out more into the romantic comedy genre in future.

One thought on “Release & Review: Candy Boys – Jo Raven

  1. […] Torrid Affair – Callie Anderson ★★★★ Retrieval – Aly Martinez ★★★★ Candy Boys – Jo Raven ★★★★ The Playbook book 1 – Lily Jane & Missy Johnson ★★ The Virgin Intern – […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

