Review: Draw Play – Tia Lewis

1

September 16, 2016 by evesummers

draw-playDraw Play by Tia Lewis
Series: standalone
Genre: romance
Archetype: athlete
add-to-goodreads-button

Jake
I can’t believe my coach assigned me a tutor. I dominate the field and between the sheets—who cares about grades?

But Claire doesn’t treat me like I’m stupid. When we’re not busy arguing like idiots, she actually encourages me. Something no other woman had done before. And with those sexy curves of hers, I know just how to thank her. And thank her thoroughly.

Claire
I hate football players, but I need the money. Jake is just ascocky and arrogant as the worst of them … but his touch sets me on fire.

I have to believe he’s different, that he won’t use me and break my heart. Because I can’t stop wanting him. I just hope I survive the ride.

Purchase it

Amazon US | Amazon UK

Review

Heat: ★★★
Rating: ★★★

As a debut novel by Tia Lewis, this had a lot of potential. The synopsis was particularly gripping, so naturally I had to pick this one up. I have to say I was impressed with the explicit sex scenes, and wished there were a few more of them. And although the novel began feeling somewhat stilted, I enjoyed the second half much more, when it felt like the narrative and plot were beginning to flow a little more.

I wished he saw himself the way I saw him. I knew he was intelligent, warm, caring, and insightful. He only saw himself as a football player.

In some ways, it fell a little flat for me. I couldn’t feel the emotions; rather, they were a little forced through the dialogue. Similarly, both characters were immature, particularly Jake in his constant grumbling about having to have a tutor.

I wish Lewis had explored Jake’s family life more. We had plenty of background, but I would have liked a resolution to that particular conflict. Instead, it felt like a way to make Jake a more complex character, but without actual substance.

There just wasn’t anything particularly unique here. That was my main issue. Despite the potential of Lewis’ writing, I really wanted something steamier, filthier and more original. It was a strong debut, no doubt about it, and Lewis clearly has a lot of potential. I just feel like she can deliver a little more. Something deeper.

One thought on “Review: Draw Play – Tia Lewis

  1. […] book 1 – Lily Jane & Missy Johnson ★★ The Virgin Intern – Penny Wylder ★★ Draw Play – Tia Lewis ★★★ Pour Your Heart Out – Zoe Lee ★★★ Darkest Before Dawn – Stevie J. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

