Tour & Review: Darkest Before Dawn – Stevie J. Cole

1

September 21, 2016 by evesummers

darkest-before-dawnDarkest Before Dawn by Stevie J. Cole
Series: standalone
Genre: dark
add-to-goodreads-button

Sixty-four days in captivity. Sixty-four days to lose yourself—or find yourself.

I’m Ava Donovan. I was abducted at the age of nineteen. I’m told I’m a survivor, but the truth is, I only survived because he saved me. Even when he kept me locked in that room—he saved me.
Constantly wondering when and how you will die, that does something to you. To your mind. But what do you do when it does something to your heart? What do you do when the man holding you captive seems just as broken as you are, when his mere presence becomes a comfort you crave—when you love him even though you shouldn’t?

You smile and tell yourself it’s okay because love has no morals.
Sixty-four days in captivity gave me a love most people will never have and my freedom took it all away.

Purchase it

Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon AU

Review

Heat: ★
Rating: ★★★

This may be the first book I’ve read by Cole, but I definitely won’t be the last. I really did enjoy immersing myself in this one, though I have to admit I was slightly disappointed in the dark factor, expecting something a lot grittier and more brutal. Maybe I’ve just read too many dark books recently and I’m now broken inside. I was also hoping for a little more on the erotica side, too, but these sex scenes didn’t quite do it for me.

Abuse cracks the mirror of self-perception, causing flaws in the way you view yourself and the way you accept how others view you.

Aside from these slight disappointments, I thought Cole weaved a highly intriguing story with a clear message about loving the darkness inside others, or indeed loving them because of their darkness. This shone through and gave the story a much deeper focus than I’m used to reading in the dark genre.

I feel much like Lucifer luring an angel from the realms of heaven; however, the devil wouldn’t feel guilt pressing down on him like I do.

Cole’s writing style is excellent, wonderfully fluent and clear, and towards the end I absolutely became attached emotionally to the characters, and was rooting for the resolving of their issues despite the questions of morality attached to it. It was the ending which really sold me on this book; yes, I was disappointed in the lack of dark, gritty, sexy scenes, but there was an element of originality in the conclusion which I very much enjoyed, especially with the question of whether love is valid if it’s the result of manipulation.

Two broken people together – that will either end in something so unreal and raw that all those fractured pieces of the two of us will fuse together or we will only break each other further until nothing is left.

This is a story of two people entangled by fate, loving one another because of their mutual scars and darkness. It may not have the gritty brutality I was hoping for, or even that much erotica, but it is still a story well worth reading.

One thought on “Tour & Review: Darkest Before Dawn – Stevie J. Cole

  1. […] Penny Wylder ★★ Draw Play – Tia Lewis ★★★ Pour Your Heart Out – Zoe Lee ★★★ Darkest Before Dawn – Stevie J. Cole ★★★ Fastball – A.M. Hargrove & Terri E. Laine ★★★ Ruin – Clarissa […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

