Out now! Review: Fastball – A.M. Hargrove & Terri E. Laine

1

September 22, 2016 by evesummers

fastballFastball by A.M. Hargrove & Terri E. Laine
Series: A Wilde Players Dirty Romance #2 (can standalone)
Genre: erotic romance
Themes: fling to thing, BDSM, sports
add-to-goodreads-button

Our relationship starts off like a bad joke.

A gorgeous guy walks into a bar and says to me, “Do you want to F#ck?” and damn if I don’t say yes.

And that should have been it—the punch line.

We never should’ve seen each other again.

Only we do.

Turns out sex on a stick, Ryder Wilde, is more than an orgasm-giver. He’s a player. Not just any either. A Major League Baseball pitcher. And damn, I want to be his catcher.

Except he doesn’t want to play any games or follow my rules:

No relationships.

No falling in love.

Because he’s used to winning … and wants to claim me as his prize.

His mission is to own me, body and soul, no matter how much I push him away.

Powerless to stop him, I can only hope my heart isn’t another casualty of his fastball.

Purchase it

Amazon US | Amazon UK

Review

Heat: ★★★★
Rating: ★★★

Reviewer’s note: although this can standalone, full enjoyment will come from having read the first instalment in the series.

Hargrove and Laine have written a wonderfully hot erotic romance here, with enough depth to it to keep it interesting and more than just sex with no plot. I found this perfectly paced, a fairly quick read that managed to progress and develop at the right speed without leaving anything out, and allowing understanding of the characters and where they were emotionally.

I loved how this dived straight in, immediately to steam with no set up, something a little refreshing and different to many of the other romances I’ve read recently. And although their relationship was clearly set up in the previous instalment, I didn’t feel like I really missed anything crucial.

“I would gift you the stars just to see them twinkle in your eyes because you’re more than this, Gina. More than the sum of your experiences.”

My main gripe with the story was the lack of honestly between the characters, making the angst seem a little forced at times. I was also unable to really tell the ages of these characters, as although I feel they were painted to be mid to late twenties, they really did act immaturely and have younger voices. And, despite the super steamy sex, I never quite felt the sexual tension between the two characters which was a shame for me. Neither did I really grow attached emotionally to either character.

Above all, although (like everyone) I’m a huge fan of a happily ever after, I found that everything came together a little too easily and perfectly towards the end.

Regardless of its drawbacks, I really did enjoy reading this, particularly with its BDSM twist, and will be going back to read the first one.

One thought on “Out now! Review: Fastball – A.M. Hargrove & Terri E. Laine

  1. […] Pour Your Heart Out – Zoe Lee ★★★ Darkest Before Dawn – Stevie J. Cole ★★★ Fastball – A.M. Hargrove & Terri E. Laine ★★★ Ruin – Clarissa Wild ★★ Maximum Rush – Misti Murphy ★★★★ Four – S.C. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

