Review: Ruin – Clarissa Wild

1

September 22, 2016 by evesummers

ruinRuin by Clarissa Wild
Series: standalone
Genre: young adult
add-to-goodreads-button

Maybell Fairweather was the girl of my dreams.

Always smiling brightly, she kept going, despite the names her classmates called her behind her back.

She was full of curiosity and independence, the extent of which I could only be jealous of. Even though she had all odds stacked against her, she knew what she wanted from life and pursued it, no matter the cost.

She was completely my opposite in every way.

Perfect, even though she couldn’t see it.

Perfect … until me.

Because this is the story of how I ruined her.

Purchase it

Amazon US | Amazon UK | B&N | Kobo | iBooks | Google Play

Limited Edition

Ruin is also available with a limited edition cover. This edition is only available in paperback and can be purchased directly from Clarissa Wild.

Buy a signed copy here: http://bit.ly/2d7zlNO

Review

Heat: ★
Rating: ★★

I’m afraid to say that this one didn’t quite do it for me.

Although the premise was intriguing (and the cover absolutely gorgeous), this didn’t quite live up to the expectations in my mind. I fully understand how deeply personal this story is to Wild, which I admit makes me somewhat uncomfortable to say that I didn’t like it. So I’ll add that this is entirely my own opinion, and just because it didn’t work for me, it doesn’t mean that it won’t work for you or others (as is evident by the many positive reviews already).

Where I think this fell flat for me was in its length. It was too rushed for such a poignant story, which meant I just couldn’t get attached to either of the characters or their relationship. I’m also really not a fan of insta-love, and their relationship moved incredibly quickly due to the fast pace of the novel.

That guy who didn’t judge me, but understood me, and liked to escape into a fantasy world, just like me. It’s always been him.

I also wanted to see more of Alexander’s mind, his thoughts and how his mental health was affecting his day to day life. But more than anything, I wanted to be shown and not told what was happening and how I should feel. And I wanted to see more how aspergers affected the life of May before her accident.

More than anything, and particularly with its length, this was just way too melodramatic.

Had this been a longer book, and had I actually been given the time to care about the characters and grieve for them, and had it taken longer to resolve itself and me to really feel the pain and issues both were going through, I would have really enjoyed reading this. It just felt a little too rushed for me, and not enough was really fully resolved, particularly with the relationships between the two lead characters and their families.

One thought on “Review: Ruin – Clarissa Wild

  1. […] Dawn – Stevie J. Cole ★★★ Fastball – A.M. Hargrove & Terri E. Laine ★★★ Ruin – Clarissa Wild ★★ Maximum Rush – Misti Murphy ★★★★ Four – S.C. Daiko ★★★★ Endless […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

