Out now! Review & Giveaway: Transfer – Aly Martinez

1

September 28, 2016 by Evelyn Summers

transferTransfer by Aly Martinez
Series: The Retrieval Duet #2
Genre: romantic suspense
Themes: law enforcement
add-to-goodreads-button

One story. Two couples.

I fell in love with a man who didn’t exist.

What started out as romance ended in hell.

His words turned to razor blades.

His kisses converted to fists.

His embrace became my cage.

His body transformed into a weapon, stealing parts of me until ultimately….

I broke.

I hated him.

My sole job in life became to protect our daughter.

I wasn’t sure I’d ever escape the prison he’d skillfully crafted from my fears.

Until the day our savior arrived.

This is the story of how I escaped the man who thought he owned me.

The transfer of my life and my family.

Purchase it

Amazon US | Amazon UK | iBooks | Nook | Kobo

Review

Heat: ★★★
Rating: ★★★★

Reviewer’s note: this is not a standalone. It takes off from the conclusion of Retrieval (see our review here).

“I don’t want to be your Luke. Not anymore. I’m Heath. I’ve always been Heath. But, regardless of what my name is, I’m not going anywhere.”

This is definitely one of my favourite series of 2016. I didn’t have a favourite instalment, but I have to say that this second part really solidified my emotional connection to all four characters. It was wonderful to see Clare’s transformation, from broken to strong, and how sweet and caring Heath was in his interactions with her and Tessa.

I loved how it was written from all four main characters’ points of view, whilst successfully maintaining the focus on Claire and Heath in this part.

Walt had proven that love wasn’t always hearts and flowers. It could be dark and dirty, defined by power and pain, and filled with anguish and agony.

Above all, the storyline was just fantastic, and I very much enjoyed the angst not being due to forced relationship problems, but instead due to the external threat of Walt, and the emotional impact of the plot twists (which I totally didnot see coming). The benefit of this is that I never once doubted the budding relationships, not the heroes, within these pages – meaning I want to marry both Roman andHeath now.

Something had happened inside me when his lips had met mine. A hunger I hadn’t felt in years had surged through me. Passion. Longing. Desire.

A fantastically suspenseful, beautifully romantic story, about rebuilding lives and forging strong relationships, with one of the sweetest epilogues I’ve ever had the pleasure of reading. Highly, highly recommended.

Giveaway

$50 Amazon gift card

One thought on “Out now! Review & Giveaway: Transfer – Aly Martinez

  1. […] Alaska Angelini)★★★★ Stroked Long – Meghan Quinn ★★★★★ (top recommendation) Transfer – Aly Martinez ★★★★ Her Web Master – Normandie Alleman ★★★ Calico – Callie […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

