Out now! Review & Giveaway: Midnight Scent – Dori Lavelle

Leave a comment

September 30, 2016 by evesummers

midnight-scentMidnight Scent by Dori Lavelle
Series: Amour Toxique #1
Genre: psychological romance
Themes: stalker
add-to-goodreads-button

I find the love letters in my new dorm room, left behind by a previous occupant.

They’re meant for someone else, but the words speak to me. They slide off the page, and wrap themselves around my body. They touch me in places I didn’t know existed.

I’m falling in love with each word, unable to stop myself.

And I don’t even know his name.

Until they tell me.

They say his name is Marcus Devereaux. They say he’s toxic… very dangerous. Falling for him will be a mistake.

I want to believe them. I want to walk away. But the words refuse to be erased from the invisible parts of me.

I’m hooked on the scent of his poison. It’s bad for me. It could kill me. But I’m in too deep.

Purchase it

Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon AU

Review

Heat: ★★
Rating:  ★★★

Reviewer’s note: yes, this has a cliffhanger. But calm your tits and stop stressing.

I had mixed feelings about this one. The synopsis totally intrigued me and I was unbelievably excited to start reading it, but it didn’t quite live up to my expectations.

Only I can decide the letters’ fate, the fate of the words that touch me so deeply, even when I’m not reading them.

The storyline was strong, creepy and psychologically challenging, as we follow Ivy’s descent into mutual, destructive obsession with JD. I haven’t read anything like this before, so it was both refreshing and intriguing.

However, I didn’t particularly find the plot twist at the climax believable; it seemed a little too melodramatic (as did several of the subplots within the narrative, such as Ivy’s relationship with her mother, and her best friend’s relationship). It wasn’t quite in character of what JD was built up to be – cunning, deceptive and a little crazy – but I wonder where this will lead in the next instalment.

I don’t see a murderer there. I see an attractive man who takes my breath away. A man who captures my soul at first sight.

I’m no stranger to falling for unlikeable characters, but I just did not like JD in the slightest. I wasn’t convinced by their chemistry, which I felt was constructed more me being told by Ivy’s narrative that she felt a connection to him, rather than something I could make my own mind up about from being shown feelings and physical reactions than being told how to feel. I think I would have enjoyed this a little more had a really believed in the chemistry, connection and lust between the two, as this would have been a total mind-fuck for the reader.

Similarly, due to this lack of chemistry the eroticism I was hoping for just wasn’t there, despite some explicit letters and dream scenes. I was hoping for something a little sexier, some intense lust clouding judgement, and making Ivy’s actions and reactions more relatable.

He has completely possessed my mind and body. During the night, he enters my dreams uninvited; during the day, he invades my thoughts.

An original plot hampered by a lack of chemistry, Lavelle has written a piece of intrigue filled with psychological mystery and destructive obsession. Although I did enjoy reading it, I was left feeling a little cold.

Giveaway

A paperback of Dori Lavelle’s Veiled Obsession (His Agenda #1)

Leave a Reply

