Review: Wolfe – Cari Silverwood

1

October 6, 2016 by evesummers

wolfeWolfe by Cari Silverwood
Series: Dark Hearts spin-off standalone
Genre: dark erotica, paranormal
Themes: abduction, amnesia
Dark Erotica book club pick, October 2016
add-to-goodreads-button

Beauty and the Beast as it’s never been told.

Riddled with bullets and left to die in Thailand, Wolfe is medivacked to the USA. He survives, recovering from wounds no man should be able to heal. Months later, his perplexed doctor lowers the dosages of his medications and Wolfe begins to change.

His powers awaken.

Kiara, his nurse at the rehabilitation village, thinks she only has to hand him over to Russian intelligence agents to save her parents from punishment. It won’t be that simple. Kiara isn’t safe.

The kidnapper becomes the victim.

When free of drugs, Wolfe becomes ferocious and animalistic in his desires and actions. What if a man who is almost an animal could command you to do anything he wanted? And you couldn’t resist…

Kiara may be taken past the point of survival.

Be careful who you dare to betray.

WARNING
This is a dark romance and written to be disturbing.

You’ll find some graphic scenes of violence and sex within these pages, plus a smidgen of horror. Though the ending may be sweet, this is a very kinky, twisted, and dark story.

Purchase it

Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA

Review

Heat: ★★★★★
Rating: ★★★

Reviewer’s note: although this spin-off can be read as a standalone, I would strongly recommend reading the Dark Hearts series first.

Bouncing from caring about her to grim, dark, and macabre bemused me, amused me, made me curious about my own mind.

I really, really enjoyed the first 25% of this novel. It was intriguing, and like nothing I’d ever really read before. And I needed to keep reading. But then, it sort of went downhill a little. The subplot with Damian and his partner was just irritating and removed me from the rhythm of the story, and the unravelling of the mystery, as did some of the other reveals through distant characters. There were also perhaps one too many references to popular culture (Pokemon, The Princess Bride), making these seem a bit forced.

“I don’t remember everything I did to you last night. It wasn’t moral or legal, but I’m not sorry.”

Although the paranormal aspects took on quite a significant role within the plot, I actually didn’t mind this. It allowed for a much more original plot, but also much more inventive and boundary-pushing erotic scenes (and this was 100% a one-handed read). I mean, this was insanely hot, and perhaps one of the strongest aspects of the book overall.

My main issue was that I never really got to know the characters. Not only was the tone very cold and detached, but the Wolfe and Kiara we were introduced to at the beginning of the book were completely different to the ones at the end, so I struggled with the continuity here – as well as their rather rapidly developing relationship, which I couldn’t quite invest myself in, or believe in (aside from, of course, their awesomely steamy sex).

A few plot points seemed forced, and I’m not entirely convinced by Kiara’s reactions to Wolfe’s slowly revealed past. I also think that not enough was quite wrapped up here, mystery-wise. There were, instead, many hints but never quite enough detail to be completely satisfying, though I have to commend Silverwood for managing to maintain the big reveal as a genuine, unguessed surprise.

He could probably cut holes in me, fuck them, stitch them up, and still I’d crawl back in and beg.

This is dark, and the erotic scenes challenge consent (and comfort). But it’s also unbelievably hot. I believe I would have enjoyed it more had I read the Dark Hearts series first, but I can’t help but wish there was both more character and mystery depth, rather than a rushed ending.

One thought on “Review: Wolfe – Cari Silverwood

  1. […] Robertson ★★★★ Bang Gang – Jade West ★★★ Elicit – M. Never ★★★ Wolfe – Cari Silverwood ★★★ Tonic – Staci Hart ★★★ Back to Yesterday – Whitney Barbetti ★★★ Behind […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

