Tour & Review: Savage Mafia Prince – Annika Martin

1

October 13, 2016 by Evelyn Summers

savagemafiaprince-1600x2400newSavage Mafia Prince by Annika Martin
Series: Dangerous Royals #3
Genre: dark erotica
add-to-goodreads-button

Where is Kiro?

He’s the lost Dragusha brother, heir to a vast mafia empire—brilliant, violent, and utterly savage…and he’s been missing for years.

Ann

I’m supposed to be doing simple undercover research at the Fancher Institute for the Mentally Ill & Dangerous, but I can’t keep my mind off Patient 34. He’s startlingly young and gorgeous, but it’s not just that. He’s strapped way too tightly to that bed. And there’s no name or criminal history on his chart. What are these people hiding? My reporter’s instincts are screaming.

Here’s the other thing: the staffers here believe he’s so sedated that there’s not a thought in his head, but I catch him watching me when nobody’s looking. Our connection sizzles when I enter the room. When our eyes meet, I know he understands me in a way nobody else ever has.

I’m supposed to follow my editor’s orders—I have secrets, too—but everything about Patient 34 is suspicious. How can I not investigate?

Purchase it

Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon AU | iBooks | Kobo | Nook

Review

Heat: ★★
Rating: ★★★★

Reviewer’s note: this is the third instalment of the Dangerous Royals series. I would highly recommend starting from the beginning with Dark Mafia Prince.

I’ve always admired people who decide on a direction and go for it against all odds. The rebels, the heretics, the true believers, the doomed warriors.

The final (and most eagerly awaited) book in Martin’sDangerous Royals series, this follows the third and final brother, Kiro, after he has awoken the interest of Bloody Lazarus. Although it is a departure from the darker nature of the rest of the series, I actually enjoyed this one much more, due to its originality and Martin’s perfect characterisation of Kiro, and deep sensory descriptions of the forest and wildlife.

Though few, the sex scenes had enough animalism and passion in them to get my heart pounding – I just wish there had been a few more. Perhaps it’s my pervy self speaking, but this series has felt like it should be super sexy, yet always slightly let itself down in that department.

He’s a force of nature. Pure aliveness. Pure power. He’s the most ferociously hot thing I’ve ever seen. The most dangerous thing I’ve ever seen.

I found that I could imagine Kiro’s character, his quiet but brutal nature, absolutely brilliantly in my mind, the way his eyes, his face and his actions expressed much more than words, with the juxtaposition of the PTSD-suffering journalist, Ann, whose life revolved around them. This was a deeper level and I loved watching how their relationship and understanding of one another grew. I particularly enjoyed the detailed descriptions of survival methods, and learning about both characters’ backstories.

I’ve also very much enjoyed the POV chapters from Lazarus, particularly in regards to his relationship with his business guru, and how absurdly brilliant an idea this was on Martin’s part.

“I wanted to rip his face off, and then fuck you in front of everyone.”

This was a satisfying, original ending to a series that has successfully changed tone and theme, from dark and mafia to more suspenseful and thoughtful. In some respects, however, the big difference between this and the others has dampened my enjoyment of the first two – now feeling like they were simply a prolonged build-up to this. Regardless, it’s nice that the mystery has been solved and the loose ends come together, and this is a series I would absolutely recommend.

Series order

  1. Dark Mafia Prince
  2. Wicked Mafia Prince
  3. Savage Mafia Prince
One thought on “Tour & Review: Savage Mafia Prince – Annika Martin

  1. […] Out – A.A. Dark (aka Alaska Angelini) ★★★★ Sigil – Addison Cain ★★★★ Savage Mafia Prince – Annika Martin ★★★★ Wake to Dream – Lily White ★★★★ Between Here and the Horizon – […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

