Tour & Review: Black Swan Affair – K.L. Kreig

1

October 20, 2016 by evesummers

13720508_585152038312993_1090760524_oBlack Swan Affair by K.L. Kreig
Series: standalone
Genre: erotic romance
Themes: love triangle, friends to lovers, unrequited love

add-to-goodreads-button

I’ve loved him as long as I can remember.

The gangly boy with big brown eyes and unruly hair who grew up into an intoxicating man. He wears scruff like he invented it and ambles with a swagger that makes panties drop.

Killian Shepard.

Shep.

We grew up together. We played Ghost in the Graveyard. Had our own rock band. It didn’t matter that he was five years older than me. It didn’t matter that he looked at me as a kid sister even as I grew into a woman. It didn’t even matter when he left me behind to go to college and start his adult life.

He’d be back.

He was always meant to be mine.

He came back, all right. But instead of smelling of promises, he stunk of betrayal. And he destroyed me—us—the day he married my sister instead of me.

So I did the only thing a girl like me in my position could do.

I got my revenge.

I married his brother, Kael.

Now we’re one big happy fucking family.

Purchase it

Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | iBooks | Kobo

Review

Heat: ★★★★
Rating: ★★★

I’m suffocating. Drowning slowly in heart-wrenching torment and a lifetime of regrets and wrong decisions.

It had a bit of everything – plenty of drama, insanely steamy sex, utterly nerve-wracking moments, and occasions when I felt I’d been punched in the gut. This was nothing if not an emotional, hard journey – and one I feel was absolutely worth taking.

Our lives are eternally interwoven. Our futures together already penned. They have been since the day of my birth.

I loved the voice of Maverick, and how it changed and grew throughout these pages. How it started bitter, and ended confident, and really how this reflected her journey. This was more than just a love triangle, and I have to be honest I was pleasantly surprised with how the plot differed from what I was expecting from reading the synopsis. There were plenty of twists and turns, and although it all felt like it was leading in a particular direction, I still had moments where I was unsure if it would actually make it.

“When life gives you lemons, you don’t make lemonade. That’s for pantywaisters. No. You pucker up, suck them dry, then throw the used rinds back in life’s face with a giant fuck-you and a gesture for more.”

I have also completely fallen in love with Kael, Killian and Maverick. The latter, because she has strength despite her mistakes. The former because of the strength of their love for her and how they individually expressed this. But Kael – he’s one of those rare book soulmates that you actually fall head over heels in love with. It’s always a pleasure to read a story with someone like that in it, whom you care for so deeply, though the ramification is that the real-life partner never quite lives up to it…

Fantastic characterisation, scorching sex, with a deeply emotional touch. One of the best releases of 2016.

One thought on “Tour & Review: Black Swan Affair – K.L. Kreig

  1. […] Dream – Lily White ★★★★ Between Here and the Horizon – Callie Hart ★★★★ Black Swan Affair – K.L. Kreig ★★★★ A Harmless Little Game – Meli Raine ★★★★ It Takes Two – Nikki […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

