Review: Good Sick – Sansa Rayne

1

October 26, 2016 by evesummers

good-sickGood Sick by Sansa Rayne (aka Sasha Rich)
Series: standalone
Genre: erotica
Themes: BDSM
add-to-goodreads-button

“They called it a cult. I called it home.”

ABIGAIL
I don’t regret running away from home six years ago. I wound up at Good Souls, a secluded farm where I could fight my dark, dirty impulses and remain pure. I knew that soon I would receive the ultimate reward: ascension straight to heaven. Then the police raided our farm and took everything away. They called it being “rescued.”
I had nothing: no family or friends, just an empty apartment in New York. The other women from the farm barely spoke to me. Our leader, Brady Booker, was missing, and my therapist wanted to convince me my sexual urges were normal, and that ascension was a lie.
For so long I believed my hunger for discipline and restraint was the work of demons tempting me to sin. Then I met Mason. Dominant and handsome, he made me feel good… even if I am sick…

MASON
For ten years I’ve been on the hunt, trying to fix a mistake that cost me everything. Obsessed with righting the wrongs of my past, I lost touch with my friends and family; I lost my badge; I lost all semblance of a normal life.
I never should have let Abigail Lamb get under my skin. Just when I’d caught a break, when I thought the end was in sight, she stood in my way. Beautiful, but brainwashed, her tragic past and thirst for submission drew me in and held on tight. I couldn’t resist, even if it meant jeopardizing my mission.
Now I have no choice. I can’t let her go, not until I get what I need. I’m going to finish what I started, even if that means becoming a monster…

Publisher’s note: “Good Sick” is a psychological, new adult dark romance story with explicit sexual content, including BDSM practices, with no cliffhangers, no cheating and a HEA.

Purchase it

Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA

Review

Heat: ★★★★
Rating: ★★★

Watch out, Abbi, I thought in Brady’s voice. The demons are going to be coming for you.
Let them come.

This is the first book I’ve read by Sansa Rayne/Sasha Rich – and I found it thrilling and steamy. It has a wonderfully original plot, following the life and re-intergration of Abigail in society, after she is rescued from a cult. It’s aninteresting concept, and I enjoyed the BDSM interlinking with this brainwashed mentality.

The sex scenes were clearly written from someone who knows her stuff, and this was absolutely one hot read – apart from the use of euphemisms like “orifice” and “rod” (I’m afraid to say I’m a pussy/cunt/cock/dick kinda girl)!

She was my kind of sick, and I couldn’t let that go.

The reason I can’t rate this book any higher is that, despite the brilliant plot and the potential for greater things, Rayne has a tendency to fall into the telling, not showing category of writers – describing sexual acts (and general plot events) physically, but not quite delving into the emotional, internal aspect and properly conveying the characters through the medium of reading.

There was a lot that could have been covered here, and I wanted a little more detail into the mental aspect and rehabilitation of Abigail, both with Mason and her therapist; it all happened perhaps too quickly and neatly to have been fully believable.

“The agony of the body feeds the serenity of the soul.”

Absolutely worth a read, this is an author I’m excited about following, and about watching her writing style develop. Let’s hope for more emotion (and actually more darkness, too) in future works.

 

One thought on “Review: Good Sick – Sansa Rayne

  1. […] to Yesterday – Whitney Barbetti ★★★ Behind Closed Doors – Lisa Renee Jones ★★★ Good Sick – Sansa Rayne (aka Sasha […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

