Review: Protector – Michelle Horst

1

November 4, 2016 by evesummers

protectorProtector by Michelle Horst
Series: standalone
Genre: romantic suspense
add-to-goodreads-button

I’ve always thought of myself as a pretty happy-go-lucky kind of person. I wanted to save the world, or at least leave my stamp behind. In my own naïve way I thought I could bribe karma but life has a way of teaching us lessons.

I never knew how selfish I was until my life was ripped away from me.

Taken.

I’m forced to watch as they torture and kill my family … and I know I’m next.

I hear their screams.

I watch them die.

It’s the worst kind of torture

Then he comes. He made a promise to my brother. It’s the only thing keeping him bound to me. 

A promise to protect me.

I should set him free of the promise … but I don’t. He’s my shield against karma. He’s my protector.

Purchase it

Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA

Review

Themes: protector
Heat: ★★★
Rating:
 ★★★

Karma, now there’s a peculiar thing. I never knew how selfish I was until my life was ripped away from me.

Michelle Horst has been on my radar for a while but this is the first of her books I’ve had the chance to read. Plot-wise, I very much enjoyed it and found myself intrigued from the very beginning, particularly because it was so very bloodthirsty in a way I wasn’t entirely expecting. I also very much liked the sexual tension between Riley and Griffin, which was highly believable (and highly satisfying when they finally – and yes, I mean finally – indulged).

Death. It’s not a path to a better place like I always thought it would be. Death confines you. It suffocates all the warmth and happiness from you. Death is the end. There’s just nothing after it.

I struggled with the feeling that some of this was pretty overwritten, with an attempt to include so many moments of deep, profound prose, which for me became a little irritating and slightly infantilising – really, I just wanted to read the story, have the occasional “this is how grief feels, this is what I need to do to get over it” moment, but it felt like it was on repeat a little.

I also felt that some of the angst, particularly the final plot twist, was extraordinarily forced, and totally out of character. It was a completely unnecessary addition, and was too easily forgiven to have emotionally impacted me like other parts of this story.

Madness is a place where your soul goes to die. Insanity becomes a safe haven for your devastated mind.

Overall, a largely fantastic plot marred by a little forced angst and overwriting. Still a highly enjoyable read, with emotional and heartwarming moments and a passionate, believable love.

One thought on “Review: Protector – Michelle Horst

  1. […] Nikki Sloane ★★★★ Wicked Little Words – Stevie J. Cole & B.T. Urruela ★★★★ Protector – Michelle Horst ★★★ See Through Heart – Amie […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

