Review: Her Master’s Courtesan – Lily White

Leave a comment

November 11, 2016 by evesummers

her-masters-courtesanHer Master’s Courtesan by Lily White
Series: Masters #1
Genre: dark erotica
add-to-goodreads-button

I am a Master.

You must know this fact to understand my story.

I capture women.

I break them down.

And I rebuild them.

If they are lucky, they are sold into the professional hands of another Master. If they are less fortunate, they are buried beneath the ground, never to be thought of again.

I lust for the control, I demand absolute submission and my body yearns to warp the minds of those I train.

Power is the only thing I’ll ever need and I am addicted to the feeling of ultimate control.

I am wealthy, good-looking, educated and charming.

And I am – in no way – a good man.

I do not want love.
I do not want kindness.

She thought she could change me by giving me the two things I knew I never wanted.

She was wrong.

Purchase it

Smashwords

Review

Themes: abduction, BDSM, forced slavery
Heat: 5/5
Rating: ★★★★

This was one fucked up ride.

Piece by piece, I would strip her of the things she once found pleasurable until she was left utterly devoid of happiness.

From the outset, I’m going to tell you why this only got four instead of five stars. Because I enjoyed it/was intrigued by it enough for a five star rating. It’s pretty simple: there were too many typos, and this could really benefit from a more thorough proofreading. Unfortunately that does affect my enjoyment of a book – and in ARCs, I will ignore it, trusting that it will be proofread before publishing. But when I purchase a book, I do have to comment. Anyway, enough with my gripe. Onto the good bits.

“I like breaking strong women, it’s more of a challenge and I feel more powerful as a result.”

I had to create a new shelf under ‘degradation’ for this, because humiliation just wasn’t cutting it. This is the darkest book I’ve ever read that isn’t part of the horror genre. And not only is it the darkest – by far – but it’s also probably one of the hottest, wonderfully fulfilling that fantasy many of us have at the back of our minds. Aiden was fucked up. Rebecca was fucked up. The sex was fucked up.And yet when I was reading this book, I just could not put it down. Although it’s slightly more difficult to get hold of because the fuckers at Amazon banned it, I’d absolutely recommend hunting a copy down on Smashwords if you’re a fan of the dark genre. This won’t disappoint.

I loved it when a woman begged, when she was pushed to a point where her insecurities and moralities were extinguished inside her – when all she wanted was to fuck and be fucked because her body demanded it.

Above all, what I found the most intriguing about this was that Aiden isn’t a hero. And he can’t be described as an anti-hero either. He’s vile, awful and a liar, and still manages to be utterly compelling. I commend Lily White for writing such a character, and not falling into the typical happily ever after trap with all the loose ends tied up neatly.

This is messy and raw. And oh-so-brilliant.

Leave a Reply

