Out now! Silverwitch – Tamara Grantham

Leave a comment

December 19, 2016 by Evelyn Summers

silverwitchSilverwitch by Tamara Grantham
Series: Olive Kennedy M.D. #4
Genre: fantasy, romance
add-to-goodreads-button

It’s Faythander’s legend of King Arthur. And it’s not for the faint of heart.

Olive Kennedy, Fairy World MD, isn’t ready to go back to work. But when her dragon stepfather shows up on her doorstep with bad news of the world-ending variety, that’s exactly what she’ll have to do. He wants her to stop the elven queen from obtaining seven weapons of King Arthur fame, and he wants her to break into a dragon’s vault to do it.

One problem. Silvestra, the silverwitch of Dragon Spine Mountain, guards the weapons. And she’s not willing to give them up. With the help of Kull, her newly reunited, half-crazed Viking boyfriend, she’s hopeful they’ll stand up against the dragon. Plus, she’ll have the help from Kull’s warrior princess sister and a professional thief.

But Olive has never had great luck. What starts as a routine quest quickly turns into a life or death fight. And one of her companions won’t make it out alive…

Purchase it

Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | B&N | Kobo | iBooks

Sneak Peek

I’m watching you.

I know you. I’ll take your magic and destroy the world.

Soon.

Everyone you know will die.

And you will die with them.

Theht’s voice was becoming harder to ignore.

***

Through the flames, I saw Kull’s silhouette standing atop the lifeless form of the dragon. I almost didn’t recognize the man, shirtless, covered in blood, his hands clenching the mace as it swung back and forth, making the chain clink. Embers drifted past him on waves of hot, shimmering air. He looked like something from a legend—something primal—a force of destruction. Was this really the same man I’d spent my time with, who’d discussed building libraries, who spent his time reading books and making friendly chitchat with elven nobles? No, this wasn’t the Kull I knew.

My breathing grew shallow as I stared at the man atop the beast. Was this really the person I intended to spend the rest of my life with?

***

With the wind whipping his hair and the sandstorm as a backdrop, he looked like a true barbarian—and sometimes I had to remember, he was.

***

Stepping off the ledge, Kull approached me, walking guardedly, and then stopped. We only stood a few feet apart, but to me, it felt like miles.

“Are you okay?” I asked him.

He forced a smile.

My insides squirmed. This was him, wasn’t it? It felt as if the shadow, that constant companion that had haunted him since his father’s death, that had only recently been lifted, was returning once again.

I went to him and hugged him gently, resting my head on his chest. His heart beat in steady, slow thumps. It was still him, and I refused to lose him again.

***

Fan’twar sipped his soda, made an odd face, and then stared at the brown fizzy liquid. “The beverages have changed since I was here last. What is this?”

“It’s basically liquid sugar with carbonation. It’s called Coke. Do you like it?”

He took another sip, then swallowed, his brows knit in concentration. “It has an odd flavor. Reminds me of a mold-worm custard. What is yours?”

“It’s called Dr. Pepper. Try it.” I scooted the glass toward him.

He took it and sipped the soda. “Yes,” he said, “I prefer this. May I?”

“Sure.”

I reluctantly scooted his Coke toward me, trading drinks with him. Yet another reason why I could never live with Kull or Fan’twar in Earth Kingdom—I’d never get the luxury of finishing my own drinks between the two of them.

***

“You must have faith in your abilities,” Fan’twar said, “for you are now in a position to do much good with the powers you have honed.”

My powers. I still hadn’t told him what Theht had done to me while she’d held me captive in the cave. She’d intruded on my mind, altered me, but I still wasn’t sure of the extent of the damage. It didn’t matter though. She’d shown me a vision of me destroying the world, and although I had trouble accepting it, I knew deep inside that it was true. I was the Deathbringer, and it was only a matter of time before my magic became so volatile I could no longer control it.

***

“Fan’twar,” I asked, “do you believe I will destroy the world?”

He paused before answering, his golden eyes focused on me. “I am more afraid that you will sacrifice your life to save it.”

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Leave a Reply

