Review: Mad Girl – A.A. Dark

Leave a comment

January 4, 2017 by evesummers

mad-girlMad Girl by A.A. Dark
Series: The Chronicles of Anna Monroe #1
Genre: horror/suspense
add-to-goodreads-button

My mother was the Madison Ridge Killer … and I helped her.

At nine, I was given a new start—a new life. My adoptive parents did everything they could to help me forget my past, and for a while, they succeeded.

But I was never normal. I never truly forgot all I saw or did.

Now, twenty years later, I work in the billing department for a small city newspaper. And like decades before, not that far away, another serial killer is on the loose. I can still see her. I can still hear my mother coaxing me to slide the bright red lipstick over her beautiful victims’ lips.

But this isn’t her and I’m determined to figure out who it is. I may work behind the scenes at the Rockford Times, but I’m about to get thrown right in the middle of the biggest story our city has ever seen.

My name is Anna Monroe and I’m full of secrets.

They say you’re not your past. I’m not so sure they’re right.

Purchase it

Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA

Review

Heat: 2/5
Rating: 4/5

Murder was who I was. It was what I had been raised on and the temptation was one I was going to fail without choice.

Although written by A.A. Dark, this isn’t as horror-oriented as 24690. It follows a much more thoughtful, suspenseful and psychological pathway, whilst still containing the detailed blood, gore and rape which keeps it firmly within the horror genre.

Her beauty and brutality was right out of a wet dream.

A.A. Dark is on my must-read author list. Her imagination is twisted, her stories full of intrigue and no-holds-barred descriptions. Having said that, the only reason I could not rate this a five star book was simply due to there being too much telling, not enough showing – the same problem I have had with the author’s other work. It leaves these thrilling events pretty confusing, and sometimes skips out entire passages of time.

Similarly, I could have done with a little more development, a slower pace so I could really bring myself to care about Anna.

I was the man who loved a killer. I was good and bad.

Despite these flaws, this book maintained my interest from the first page to the last page, to the extent where I ended up pulling an all-nighter just to finish it off. Highly recommended if you’re into the psychological/horror genre, and don’t mind some graphic and disturbing situations.

A strong start to a series with a hell of a lot of potential. I’ll be keeping an eye out for the sequel.

Leave a Reply

