Dear Life by Meghan Quinn

Leave a comment

January 21, 2017 by evesummers

dearlifehalfcoverDear Life by Meghan Quinn
Series: standalone
Genre: contemporary romance
add-to-goodreads-button

Four lives. Four stories. Four sets of letters. Four brave souls in need of guidance while facing life’s greatest challenges.

The anonymously published Dear Life program is designed to help them step outside of their comfort zones, face their obstacles, and relinquish their demons…and prove their existence.

With their lives teetering between wanting more and losing it all, all four souls dive into the program as a New Year’s resolution, sending them on a crazy, life-altering journey.

Dear Life,

Please be kind.

Yours truly, Hollyn, Jace, Daisy, and Carter.

Purchase it

Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA

Review

Heat: 3/5
Rating: 3/5

I struggled a little with this one. I really enjoyed the first 25%, and honestly was in one of those moods where I just couldn’t put my Kindle down, and then suddenly it all changed a bit. I don’t know if that was possibly because I’m currently in a stressful exam and deadline period and that sucked all the enjoyment out of life, or if I just found this a bit more difficult to maintain interest with after that initial awesome 25%. I also understand that this story is deeply personal to the author, and that I’m in the minority here.

This isn’t a bad book, by any means; it just didn’t quite stick out for me the way I thought it would. It’s an absolutely beautiful premise – four people struggling with life for different reasons, coming together and finding solace and hope in one another. Hollyn kept my undivided attention the entire way through, her story bringing me to tears at several moments throughout these pages, but I found it difficult to follow four characters, all with emotional stories, with the same attention. I also thought that some of the conclusions, such as Carter’s final confrontation with his uncle, was massively unlikely and a little messy, and the fact that all these storylines wrapped up so perfectly was, in some ways, frustrating.

I get that this is fiction, but life rarely throws you those positive curveballs; not least four people in the same support group.

I also found that Jace and Carter’s internal voices were quite feminine and didn’t match the exteriors of their characters, which was a little odd to read.

Overall, a wonderful premise, and Meghan Quinn’s writing balances the emotional with the entertaining exceptionally well. I just struggled to really get into this one due to its slightly preachy life advice and the neatness of the storylines.

Leave a Reply

