War Poppy by Nicole Lynne

Leave a comment

February 6, 2017 by evesummers

war-poppy-ebook-coverWar Poppy by Nicole Lynne
Series: War Series #1
Genre: romantic drama
b6907-addtogoodreads

Poppy

Love and war. Two words that should have little association, but to me the two go hand in hand. Both are a tragedy. They rip you open and spit you out. The war killed my husband, Connor, shattered my will to live, and took my best friend. Brandon may not have physically died in that war, but his soul did. And now we’re left to pick up the wreckage. Expected to move on when all that is left is the ruins of a life we once had.

Brandon

War. It took everything from me, even myself. When you’re only able to exist, death seems like a blessing. Pain…a welcome distraction. I ran from everything associated with my past, and then she found me, fighting, drowning myself in whisky, trying to forget. She reminds me of Connor, of what I’ve lost—what we’ve lost. In the midst of destruction, she’s a salvation I don’t deserve.

I shouldn’t love him.

I shouldn’t love her.

Love is a war we never should have fought.

Purchase it

Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Review by Evelyn

Heat: 3/5
Rating: 5/5

If you’re a fan of light-hearted, wishy-washy romance as a form of escapism, turn away. This is a dark, gritty read, delving deep into PTSD, alcoholism and toxic relationships. This is the sort of book that grips your heart, makes you laugh, makes you love, and makes you weep. It carries with it ‘that feeling’ – the one that hits just before the Red Wedding in GoT. Where things are leading a certain direction, but suddenly they no longer seem quite right. ‘That feeling’ is the most harrowing sensation, where things are cascading and there is no way to stop them, but you also cannot stop yourself from reading on.

Poppy and Brandon were beautifully crafted and beautifully broken, finding toxic comfort in one another’s pain, with a deeply felt, painful romance that absolutely broke me. It was one the romantic in me wanted so desperately to work out, while my brain was shouting at my Kindle and their treatment of one another. My emotions were at war, but my heart, as ever, won.

One of the best books of the year so far (and only my second five-star rating of 2017), I’d absolutely recommend this to anyone who likes a deeper, more thoughtful read. LP Lovell and Stevie J Cole completely depart from their typical writing, and do so in an extraordinary way. I hope they write more like this, as their styles compliment one another absolutely perfectly, and by pulling this off they have shown how capable and talented they both are, departing from their comfort zones in such a way.

Leave a Reply

