Censored Krystal

Leave a comment

June 29, 2017 by evesummers

Statement from Claire Lalique regarding the banning of SHATTERED KRYSTAL from Amazon.
 
I awoke this morning with my publisher telling me Amazon banned my book because “its content was in violation of their content guidelines”. I wanted to burst into tears.
I don’t know what that means to have Amazon ban my book.
What I do know is that my book is extremely personal to me.
SHATTERED KRYSTAL is my first book, my debut novel. Each word in it was chosen specifically. I believed that particular word at that place in the story was best suited to convey the emotion and gravity necessary for the reader to be caught up in the events portrayed.
 
I am devastated that this book isn’t on Amazon. I buy from Amazon. I made the decision to publish exclusively on Amazon. I wanted to publish on Amazon. Why would they ban my book? There are far more explicit books than mine on Amazon.
It seems to me that Amazon is treating erotic writers unfairly. It is after all a category or genre that they publish. Other erotic writers have been told that their book will continue to be banned unless all explicit sex or violence is completely removed. This seemingly random banning of erotic books seemed to have started in January 2011. In no other genre have I found this erratic behavior by Amazon censors.
 
I chose to write erotic romance. By definition it is explicit sexually. I chose that genre because I wanted to write about a very broken person who was healed by love. Erotica seemed to most easily fit that story line. It’s true my book has a (single) rape. It is that event that causes my heroine to be broken. It was written as a horrific act perpetuated by evil men. It wasn’t glorified or made to seem acceptable. This subject has been used in many wonderful books that are considered classical literature.
 
So finally, my last thoughts, I am sorry Amazon readers are not able to buy my book. I felt when I wrote it, that it made a statement about how resilient women can be, especially if they have love behind them, even if it was couched in erotic book language. I think all you Amazon readers would have liked it, but for now it can only be gotten on Smashwords.
 
I hope my friends and readers would share this and request their friends to share with a request for their friends to share and so forth and so forth. Amazon must realize that readers will not accept this behavior from them.
 
This is where you can buy my book for 99 cents.
#CensoredKrystal
Leave a Reply

