REVIEW: One Fear by Belle Brooks

1

July 8, 2017 by evesummers

Short, Sharp Shock …

This is a shocking, sinister book with a storyline that is better read without any prior knowledge of the premise… unsurprisingly, considering the title, the theme of fear, in it’s many guises, resonates throughout evoking a feeling of uneasiness and anxiety…fear of lost opportunity, freedom, love, life and fear of every conceivable possibility….

…this author never ceases to amaze me with her versatility..whatever the genre she creates a masterpiece……the world she imagines on this occasion is eerily dark and menacing and the players within it are immersed in a macabre game filled with suspense and intrigue…told from the dual point of view of a wife entangled in a deadly challenge and a husband left stranded at home the narrative provides an insight into both their emotional and mental states as well as historical events which may or may not have a bearing on the evolving plot…

I am not a big fan of thrillers and if I am honest when I first started reading I was not entirely confident I would enjoy it…but I love this authors work so I persevered and then slowly but surely I became caught up and then invested in the characters, their story and the outcome….and eventually I was completely enthralled….and when it came to the finale I was left bereft not because of the cliffhanger, and there is a mighty big one, but because I know it will be a long time before I read another book which is so challenging and original in it’s concept and execution….I received a copy of this book as an ARC from the author in exchange for a fair and honest review

~Sheena (5/5)

One thought on “REVIEW: One Fear by Belle Brooks

Leave a Reply

